top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJeremy Hau

Hotel Review: Sheraton Towers Singapore


In a bid to try out all the SPG properties available in Singapore, I decided to book myself a night at the Sheraton Towers Singapore. The hotel was located along Scotts Road, roughly 100m away from Newton MRT station, making it super convenient to head over to the Orchard area. Newton Circus is also just a short stroll away making it perfect for some cheap hawker food.

The problem with the Sheraton branding is really a lack of identity. There is nothing similar about Sheratons around the world other than the fact that they are usually dated. Therefore they are often a hit or miss and one cannot really come to expect certain standards from the brand. Whenever I am staying in a Sheraton, I always make an effort to view the "Traveller's photo" on TripAdvisor first before I make a booking. The Sheraton Tower Singapore was no different and the pre-conceived notion that I had of the hotel was one that was old and tired looking, in a major need of refurbishment. The façade of the hotel definitely did not help dispel that image that I had. However I was pleasantly surprised when I stepped into the elegant lobby.

I was immediately whisked off to the check in counter where I was met with a rather incompetent front desk agent. She was clueless about the Best Rate Guarantee that I got approved for this stay and required me to forward the email regarding the approval to her. She then promised to have it settled by check out time, but this of course did not happen. She also did not understand the Platinum benefits well enough because she kept mentioning that I had to apply a Suite Night Upgrade to receive a suite. So I had to fight a little to be allocated the executive suite. But after my interaction with front desk, I have to say the rest of my stay was flawless.

I was allocated the Cambridge executive suite located on the 17th floor and was in awe when I walked through the front doors. (You know you are in for a good stay when your room has its own name) The guest toilet was situated immediately to the right when entering with a bar area on the left. The décor of the room had strong European influence and felt classic. Coming in at 64sqm, it was a decent amount of space for 2 people to live comfortably. I always appreciate a nice suite with separate living area so that I can work any time of the day without disturbing my travelling partner. The view that the room had was also pretty amazing and i spent quite a bit of time staring out to people watch.

The bedroom featured a massive king sized bed that could easily fit 3 grown men, but came in a little bit on the hard size. The bed could definitely use with more mattress padding to make it softer. The rest of the bedroom comprised of the usual, including a work desk, a flat screen tv, and an ottoman chair.

The bathroom was a little bit disappointing though. I hated the shower/tub combination that is prevalent in the older hotels in Singapore including the Sheraton. The toiletries were also from an in-house brand, and did not feel premium at all. But then again, the hotel cannot be blamed because the Sheraton brand does not have standardized bathroom amenities.

As part of my platinum benefit, I had access to the Tower Executive Lounge located on level 3. The place was very impressive visually with its use of marbles tiling and velvet chairs. The selection of hot and cold food was sufficient enough to be a meal replacement. I was thoroughly impressed by the food offerings and thought that it was better than what was offered by Westin Singapore.

I was so gutted that I missed breakfast the next day and walked over to Newton Circus for some local fare.

Overall this property deserves a 5/5 because they stay was nothing less than exceptional. With my BRG approved, I only paid $186 for the room, making it an extremely affordable SPG stay. I would definitely be back in the near future for more staycaytions.

368 views0 comments
bottom of page